Sweeney Todd

I’ve heard good reviews about this movie since last year but was too busy to go to the theatere until recently. When I finally saw this movie, I was disappointed. The good can be read from the reviews, so I’m just going to talk about what I did not like about this movie:
First of all, since it was directed by Tim Burton so I thought I could see a blend of tragedy and dark comedy, instead the movie was plain and dull.
Second, there was too much gore and too much blood but too few explanation on why Todd turns into a merciless serial killer. I understand that he’s angry, I understand that he sees London as filled with vermins, and I understand that he wants to let the rich help the poor (by stuffing pies with their flesh,) but these do not justify him killing random people. In the end, I see Todd as a mad killer who has the thirst for blood instead of someone who seeks vengence with a good reason.

0 Responses to “Sweeney Todd”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

