Glass Blues by Bump of Chicken

Flame Vein 
Original Lyrics in Japanese
http://www.uta-net.com/user/phplib/view_0.php?ID=16259
Music Video (original version):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=depyHen_xBY
Music Video (acoustic version):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tt4rT8ZBujo

Glass Blues (ガラスのブルース)
song and lyrics written by Motoo Fujiwara (藤原基央)
translation by me…

The cat with a glass eye sings, loud and proud.
The cat with a glass eye sings, while wind brushes his beard, proudly he sings.

If my voice withered, I’ll go to the river and lick my own reflection in the water.
If today’s meal is better than yesterday’s,
I’ll say “Today is a great day” and look up into the sky with a smile.

Ah…I’ll always sing as hard as possible.
Ah…I’ll always live as hard as I can.

The cat with a glass eye sings, while starved, proudly he sings.
The cat with a glass eye sings, as proof of life, proudly he sings.
The cat with a glass eye shouts, life is short, proudly he shouts.
The cat with a glass eye shouts, now is important, proudly he shouts.

There is a meaning to life, therefore, I cannot waste one second.
Even if storm comes, or rain falls,
I will always, with full strength, look up into the sky with a smile.

Ah…someday I’ll become one of the stars that twinkles in the sky.
Ah…until that day, I’ll keep on singing.

If my voice withered, I’ll go to the river and lick my own reflection in the water.
There is a meaning to life, therefore, I cannot waste one second.
Therefore, I’ll sing. I will alway sing. I will always sing. I’ll shout about “NOW”.

The cat with a glass eye becomes a star in the sky, and his loud voice has stopped.
The cat burned the last fragement of his life, and his favorite blues will never be heard again.

But your blues is inscribed inside of everyone’s heart.
From now on, if there’s anything terrible, everyone will start to sing,
while remembering the cat with a glass eye.
and look up into the sky and sings the glass blues.

Ah…I always sing as hard as possible.
Ah…I always live as hard as I can.
Ah…if there’s a great shadow in front.
Ah…I always sing as hard as possible.

1 Response to “Glass Blues by Bump of Chicken”


  1. 1 commodity option trading broker July 21, 2013 at 9:56 pm

    Aw, this was an incredibly nice post. Spending some time and actual effort to create a top notch article… but what can I say… I procrastinate
    a lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.


Leave a Reply

